The Road Ahead To Find A Cure for Alz

Gillette9-5-9-2It has been hard to believe that I have been back a month as it only seems like yesterday when I arrived in Portland Maine finishing my 3,800 mile journey.  As I settle back into my personal and professional life, I wake up every day thinking about the friendships and experiences I gained. Transitioning from my office “on the saddle” to my office in Bellevue Washington, the parallels and lessons learned have been incredible.

Since returning I have kept in touch with fellow riders, (thank you Micky B, Mike D, Andrés M, Dave M, Charlie D, Dan K, Blake and others).  We all agree the ride was not about the bike, it was the impact to our lives, our family and society at large.  We are ready to do it again and planning for 2019 and the road ahead.The_Road_Ahead_(Bill_Gates_book)

For me the ride was not just about my personal accomplishment, but how I could make a difference, raising funds and awareness to Alzheimer’s  As of today combined with corporate matching funds, we have raised over $15,000 well on the way to reach my year-end goal of $20,000.  Thanks to all of my donors, but the real thanks goes to my former “boss” Bill Gates. Yesterday Bill made news with a $50 million donation to help find a cure and treatment Alzheimer’s. 

Today, Alzheimer’s disease the sixth leading cause of death in the US, where a new case is diagnosed every 66 seconds. More than 5 million Americans live with the disease, at a cost of $259 billion a year. Without any treatment, those numbers are projected to explode to 16 million Americans, at a cost of over $1 trillion a year, by 2050.   In 1995 Bill wrote “The Road Ahead” which speaks to what lies ahead of us in many dimensions and the challenges in society including spanning the digital divide.  Today I believe the Road Ahead is about fighting this disease and finding a cure.  As Bill stated in a CNN interview yesterday “Any type or treatment would be a huge advance from where we are today,” but the long-term goal has got to be a cure.”  Both Bill I share a personal connection seeing family members impacted by Alzheimer’s.  Please consider joining me (and Bill) on “The Road Ahead” to find a cure for Alz!   To donate, click here. 

Author: rideacrossamericasite

Follow me on Twitter @craigspi or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/craig.spiezle

One thought on “The Road Ahead To Find A Cure for Alz”

Leave a comment